Don’t have time to exercise? Try Bathroom Pilates! [#TuesdayTips]

English: I photographed this picture from a pu...

English: I photographed this picture from a public restroom. It is a female symbol for the women’s restroom. I intend to use it on the toilet article to show the two commonly used male and female pictograms on public restrooms in the United States–Dark Tichondrias 08:02, 12 July 2006 (UTC) For variant version (more standard AIGA symbol), see Image:Toilet women.svg . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t have time to exercise, but I do have time to do my 5 minute Bathroom Pilates.  What is that you ask?  (Or even if you didn’t, I’m going to tell you anyway.)  Every time I have to go to the bathroom at work, I make a point to hold my stomach in and flex the muscles.  In real Pilates, I believe they call this “strengthening your core” – in Bathroom Pilates I call this sucking-in-your-gut-and-pushing-down-with-your-muscles.  Same difference though.  Since our bathroom here at work is ALL the way down the hall, I make sure my muscles are engaged the entire way down there.  Once I get to the bathroom stall, I let my stomach muscles relax and it’s time to focus on my leg muscles.  I don’t know about you, but I generally hover when I’m in a public restroom.  Taking advantage of this already Pilate-like situation, I bounce while I’m hovering and doing my business.  Then, when all the business has been completed (and I don’t mean pooping – I don’t poop in public restrooms) I put my arms straight out in front of me and make small bouncing movements.  I’ve actually been asked to do this move many times in past exercise classes and in said classes they always say to imagine that you are on a toilet – that’s what makes this so genius!  You ARE on a toilet!

After legs, I go back to abs (after I wash my hands of course) and maybe stop at the drinking fountain for a quick blast of water… might as well encourage yourself to exercise more, right?  Throw in some Kegels randomly and you’ve got quite the little exercise routine!

Keepin’ it classy.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

